Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that experiments on animals should be banned owing to several moral reasons, while others believe that animal testing helps the population be safe and healthy with new medicines or products. Although the latter view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the former view is more reasonable. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people think that animal testing brings benefits for medical breakthroughs or products ’ safety testing. In terms of the healthcare sector, this can assist the scientists to make an innovation in medical treatment such as vaccines, due to the fact that COVID-19 is spreading and causing many deaths globally. In fact, many scientists have to test the vaccines on small animals first and then bigger ones. The purpose of this is to see how the animals feel after the infection of the vaccines. Additionally, animal testing plays a vital role in testing the safety of products. For instance, cosmetics are one of the major female favourite products, and the cosmetics are usually used on the skin, which directly affects humans. Thus, to protect people from allergies or infections and make sure the products are safe to use, many brands should have tested on other animals before launching their official products to the market. On the other hand, I believe that it is unethical to use animals as a laboratory subject for human priority. To clarify that, it is cruel and inhumane because humans do not have the right to kill any other species, even a tiny mouse for their experiments. There are a lot of reports that show that the number of animals being killed in the lab is huge, which means that this should be stopped. Besides, animals have to suffer from serious pain which is unnecessary. In the world of technology, experimentation can be applied in computers to analyze, and the results will be more accurate for the scientists to rely on. Therefore, animals will no longer be used for testing that can be conducted by modern technologies at present. In conclusion, the advantages that animal testing brings to humans can be justifiable in some aspects, yet I still hold a firm belief that it should be banned due to ethical issues.