Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology has played an important role in human lives and people are increasingly dependent on it for daily activities. While it does have lots of benefits, it also brings disadvantages to us. ​It is widely accepted that information technology is doing harm to human health. Doctors said that sitting behind a computer for a long time, no matter working or playing games, injures ones bones gradually and gains them weight as well. Children who stare at the screen will also get eye diseases possibly. ​ However, the harm can be avoided by several means, such as controlling the constant time behind the computer and standing up for a break from time to time. Despite the disadvantages, information technology does benefit us a lot as well. ​ First of all, it makes our life at home easier than before. As we have gained the ways of shopping online, clothes and daily necessities are delivered to us from the shops all around the world; we are kept in touch with our friends and family by the social media such as WeChat and Line as well. ​ Information technology also benefits us on leisure. We have more methods of entertainment than ever before, like online games and movies. News apps also bring us news more conveniently and quickly in comparison with newspaper. ​Our work is also facilitated by information technology. We can just work on the computer and discuss with our colleagues online, without going to the office. Overall, information technology does have plenty of advantages. It benefits us a lot in spite of the disadvantages witch can be avoided.