Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

Issues related to leisure activities are frequently discussed these days. It is true that the majority of Gen Y and Gen Z spend their free time shopping, especially in online applications. In this essay, there could be several reasons for this, and I will provide further explanations and examples to support my viewpoint. As for the first question, in my opinion, the key that makes shopping favourable is the emotion after going out. In other words, purchasing something helps reduce life tension from hard work or other duties in crowded areas. For instance, there is research from Chulalongkorn University has shown that our body releases Endorphins when we purchase and use the products selected by them. For this reason, shopping has become the mainstream of hobbies among teenagers. Nevertheless, with regard to the second question, many people consider it just a waste of money lifestyle which is not going to bring any benefits. Despite the criticism from others, I contend that shopping is pretty relaxing stuff based on my satisfaction while doing it, and also keeps me away from numerous mental illnesses such as depression. Moreover, we can combine other lifestyles with shopping by selecting products that are related to our preferences and actions. For example, there are many sports clothing brands in the market such as Nike, Adidas, Umbro, and so on, they can create a positive trend to influence people to go out to exercise. However, shopping plays a crucial role in our society, individuals should pay attention to assessing their personal income to avoid financial problems. All things considered, I am of the opinion that shopping helps enhance our quality and lift up our emotions. Therefore, unnecessary purchasing will definitely bring negative impacts such as money and time. Thus, I think shopping is beneficial as long as it goes in the right balance.