Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and pollution problems have become major issues that most countries have to deal with nowadays. Some people believe that, in order to reduce these issues, the best way is to increase the price of fuels. Even though this is not the ideal solution to the problem, I partially agree with this idea. In this essay, I will discuss this idea as well as the other measures that we can do in order to ameliorate these issues. To begin with, due to heavy traffic in the city area, air pollution is increasing rapidly which is causing many health-related problems. Nowadays most people prefer to travel by their own vehicle even though he/she is the only passenger in the car. However, if the government increases the fuel price, then these people would think twice to travel by own vehicle as the cost is high. For instance, if the petrol prices are high, then people would take public transportation or would not travel alone in the personal vehicle as the cost is high. This option leads to reduce the traffic so that the pollution will be low significantly. Because of this reason, it is incontrovertible that increasing the fuel price can be effective in reducing the traffic dilemma. However, even though the above solution has some benefits, there are some other effective ways to handle this issue. It is undeniable that public transport plays an indispensable role in reducing traffics and its problems so that improving such services would lead to reducing many problems related to traffics. For example, If the country has well-developed public transport services such as metro, air-conditioned buses, then people would use such services instead of using their own vehicle to travel which would reduce many traffic conjunctions and pollutions. Another solution is to increase the tax on vehicles. This helps the government to ameliorate the traffic issues as well as earn more money which can be used to improve other services. For instance, countries like Singapore has a higher tax scheme for vehicles, and this has helped them to reduce traffic problems. In summary, traffic and its related complication such as air pollution have become a critical problem for many countries. Some people suggest that the price of fuel should be increased which is one of the solutions to overcome these troubles. In this essay, I discussed why I partially agree with this idea and suggested other solutions for these colossal problems.