Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Providing the best transportation to citizens is one of the critical aspects for any government across the world. Authorities should look at providing travel facilities to the public free of charge by funding the travel industry. I honestly disagree with this statement for two important reasons, which will be discussed in this essay with supporting reasons. The primary reason being, it increases the load on the government if the entire local transportation is free of cost. People will misuse the services if no price is collected for a commute across the cities, which eventually reduces the quality of service because of the stupendous maintenance burden. To cite an example, it needs approximately 2500 crores per month to run the entire Hyderabad city transportation alone, which becomes a huge burden to the authorities. Thus, to maintain the quality of service and make people accountable, transportation should not be free of cost. Adding to this, the automobile industry will crash and many employees will lose their jobs because of this decision. Many people use private vehicles to reach their destinations even though the maintenance cost of private vehicles is a little high. If the public transport is free, they will stop buying private vehicles, for instance, cars and bikes consequently lead to the shutdown of the industry and loss of jobs. Hence, to support the private travel industry and its employees, citizen transit services are to be charged. In conclusion, to avail the free services of transportation by citizens, governments should fund the public transport industry. I completely disagree with this opinion, as this not only increases a tremendous burden on the government directly but also kills the private vehicle industry. As a responsible citizen recommend that there should be a minimum charge to be implied on people to ensure the quality of service.