Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views about whether children should be taught to be competitive or co-operative. While being competitive may be so useful in their life, I believe that being able to cooperate is more important. On the one hand, competition can be a great motivator to learn, especially at the early stages of childhood. Children learn by observing each other, so this can grow a competitive spirit of them. A healthy rivalry would help them to be more confident and independent in their life and they can build a successful career in the future. However, parents and teachers should be cautious about a toxic competition that is harmful to everyone including children and their peers. The effort of being a winner is so exhausting and can cause the feeling of being drained at the end of the day. On the other hand, it is really more important to teach children to be co-operating. Actually, the ability to co-operate is necessary for all the aspects of their adult life. They need it at university and work. They should know how to work or study in teams, follow instructions given by their supervisor, or support and lead their students. These are the skills that I think are more important than the idea of being a loser or winner at your workplace and can make you feel at peace with yourself. In conclusion, I do believe that learning co-operation is much more crucial than the sense of competition in our children ’s adult life.