In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Some areas in the world promote their adolescents to work or travel for a year before starting university study. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of doing this. The main advantage is that travelling around the world helps students to improve their outlook because they can be familiar with a different culture. There are a lot of differences between an eastern and western culture which you will not understand until you live with their people for a few months. Besides travelling, they can go to work and learn some skills which helps them to find out their interests. Also, they can make a living in this way that is important for teenagers to know the value of money. Despite these advantages, there would be some disadvantages that would be better to be considered. The main one is that having a gap year between high school and university may impact their idea of studying and making a career for the future. Moreover, travelling at this young age may put them in danger because they don’t have enough experience to see the world alone. They don’t know how to behave with people from different cultures. As well as going around the world, working may have drawbacks too. Earning money at the early stages of life would make them so independent that is not good for their professional life. In conclusion, young people should be aware of both sides of travelling and working before going to university and then decide what they want to do to prevent a feeling of regret in the future.