It is believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plesure reading, defined as an enthusiastic choice by some, is believed to prove more beneficial than watching television in terms of expanding language skills and imagination power. I completely advocate this assertation on the basis of some convincing reasons. The first underlying justification is the atmosphere of freely chosen books. That is, when lost in books devoid of any ideas or illustration imposed by the creators, one's mind would imagine what it would be like. They can match a plethora of accumulated deductions from their entire lives to the accounts and characters. Take a war sequence pertaining to a historic event, including ammunition, as an example; what reading this scene provide readers with is visualize the meanings and details more real and tangible compared to abolished and repetitive ones. Another profound cognitive achievement is requiring the knowledge of syntax when reading a book is concerned. In other words, while, despite television, their concentration is not disturbed by the sounds and colors, one can decode sentences in books to gain a better understanding of the structural representation of the sentence. This method of imparting knowledge is everlasting as one sees a standard language different from their mother tongue attentively. Thid is amply illustrated by repeated exposure to foreign storybooks, in which everyone can learn infectious, positions and signposts so as to construct correct sentences and communicate effectively, especially in written forms. To sum up, while watching television is a form of learning, I personally believe that it is books which enale readers to cultivate their imagination and improve linguistic comprehension. This is mainly due to not being affected by predetermined illustrations and visual effects.