Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though the habit of online reading has been increasing, the most important source of information will be continuing to be the newspapers for the biggest part of society. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this trend affirmed and, in this essay, I will outline some arguments which support my disagreement. To begin with, one of the reasons I believe people dislike printed newspapers is because they are more engaged to ecological causes. To explain, they are more worried about products that may bring a certain damage to the environment and printing newspapers is a good example of unwanted behaviour. Consequently, they do not buy printed news as a way to produce less paper and less garbage, since it is thrown away after reading it. Another important consideration that contributes to my disagreement is because people are not even reading anymore. With the advent of the Internet, people became too attached to their phones that addiction contributed to change some habits and nowadays, they prefer watching some news than reading it. If they cannot watch the news, they read push notifications from a newspaper’s app once they received it and that is the reading of the day. Unfortunately, this old habit of reading, even a newspaper or a journal, is being missed. On the contrary, it is possible to defend that for the elderly people, newspapers are undoubtedly the most important source of information. These people cannot adapt easily to the contemporary gadgets and therefore, they keep old habits. Obviously, they are not the majority of people, even though they are living more. However, they significantly represent an interesting parcel of the population and certainly, newspapers ’ editors need to consider these people behaviour as a way to keep them alive into our society. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that printed papers will keep being the most resourceful manner of acquiring information. People are more engaged to eco causes which disapprove printing materials and besides, they are not reading anymore. It is all too superficial, like push notifications. Nonetheless, the old people are still present and they probably will keep this old habit.