More and more people no longer read the newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In a large number of countries the world over, people, nowadays, are following and celebrating a similar culture that was not a trend in the past. The predominant reason behind this phenomenon is globalization as well as the internet, and this tendency is not a positive development down to having chances of losing the uniqueness of a nation. Due to globalization, the world has become a small village where information and ideas can be shared with people living in a remote part of the world easily. As a consequence, when people get to know about something different from their traditions, they feel enthusiastic to follow those customs. To cite an example, in Bangladesh, the concept of Halloween party, a culture of Western countries, was utterly unknown to the public about ten years ago, but this occasion is now celebrated by youngsters with a great fervour only because of getting different ideas about the world. Apart from that, the burgeoning popularity of the internet and the advancement of technology help people follow the same culture around the world, facilitating building united earth. Plausible though the internet and globalization facilities make people ’s lives faster and easy, it is worth arguing that following indifferent culture the world over has negative repercussions. This is because, if people forgot their unique traditional norms and started to celebrate contemporary cultures, one day, those conventional customs would surely disappear from this world. As a result, travellers will not find any interest to travel different parts of countries, causing huge financial losses for tourists’ dependent states. To exemplify, the number of visitors to India has plumped by 20% in the last decade because tourists cannot find Indian’s unique traditions and customs now to a large extent. Hence, following similar cultures by every nation is not a good idea. In conclusion, because of globalization and technological development, people are more interested to follow an indifferent culture that is indubitably a negative thing for any state.