The woman`s place is in the kitchen. To what extent do you agree?

It has been considered for centuries that it`s the duty of the wife to cook dinner and look after the children. However, this situation tends to change significantly as in today`s world spouses strive to share household chores evenly. Moreover, since women received a right to participate in the labour market they have become an integral part of the labour force. So I definitely disagree with the given statement. First of all, the society of developed countries seeks equity between men and women. This tendency is also relevant to the sphere of domestic responsibilities as most of the duties are allocated equally between male and female halves of the family. Such a change is strictly connected with the growing role of woman's income in the household's budget. However, the situation is still very far from the perfectly egalitarian construction of the family as it is shown in numerous researches, for example, Radaev's one that is devoted to spouses' patterns of domestic labour distribution. Even though, the stage of affairs gradually undergoes considerable changes and men start to participate in the upbringing of children or in cleaning the house as well. Secondly, women play a pivotal role in economical development and the country's prosperity nowadays. For example, they contribute to this welfare by working as teachers bringing up future generations so as these children become more educated and socialized. Moreover, there are many females who literally save people's lives and provide their security by performing the jobs of doctors or being flight attendants. Some of them successfully govern countries for years and alter the lives of citizens for the better. For instance, Angela Merkel is a chancellor of Germany for more than 10 years and she is reelected every time due to her professionalism and the ability to build strong bonds with neighbouring countries. To conclude, I strongly recommend that for the betterment of society, all the stakeholders must enjoy equal rights. Thus, in a model,community everyone has a role irrespective of sex.