In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought by many that in nations where wards are sent by their parent to a mixed-sex school have a better edge over their counterparts. In my opinion, I totally agree with the notion because it affects the build up of early self esteem in girls and restrict competitive spirit which affects the male child. To begin with, the development of personal confidence in the female child happens at a much younger age in the presence of interracting with the opposite sex. Thus, this hider them in acculturating into a new system when they graduate into tertiary education. For instance, a study conducted in 1993 by the Federal Ministry of Education revealed vividly that one of the key reason for low image worth in the female gender is the absence of interraction with their masculine age pair. Therefore, this imbalance has a negative impact on personal development. Another point to consider is that the male gender has a much slower level of assimilation when they are younger. But in a joint-sex school, they are able to balance this out as they compete to do better in assessments and examinations. For example, in a recent survey conducted by 25 teachers of an all boys school, majority attested to the fact that maximum motivation in boys can be achieved when both gender are placed in the same class for learning. To conclude, in as much as we have more regions that have adopted to give parents the option to choose, teachers and school autorities still have a responsibility to be strict to curb indescent acts and inappropraite practices among students.