Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some, television is an effective medium for teaching children and as a result, regular watching should be encouraged at home and in the classroom. However, in my opinion, television is not only bad for children, but may be harmful to their development in the long term. To begin with, children will watch anything once unsupervised. While it may be possible to give some supervision to students in the classroom, at home students are often left to themselves and there is no guarantee they will watch educational programs. Most young children have poor attention spans and would quickly change channels given the chance. What’s more, with the proliferation of entertainment programs like cartoons available nowadays, the temptation to watch other TV shows may prove too great. For example, in a 2010 study in the Netherlands, children under three years old were found to watch eight hours TV per day on average. Increasing time spent watching television at home and school deprives children of valuable playtime. Active playtime away from adults is vital to allow children to explore their world, grow as individuals and most importantly let their imaginations run free. On the other hand, watching TV is an extremely passive, structured activity more suited to switching off the brain than using it. Encouraging children to do more of this may not only stunt their emotional, mental and physical development, but create less creative individuals, less in tune with their sense of self. To conclude, TV is more distracting than educational, and may even do more harm than good to a child’s development. Limiting children ’s exposure to constructive educational TV shows is the only way to gain any benefit through this medium.