Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is fair to state that education is people's first significant investment in their children as a successful student would stand a chance at a more positive career prospect. For many, learning lessons by heart is argued to be the ultimate way to graduate with flying colours. However, in my point of view, I mostly disagree. Firstly, I have to concede that with educational programs that are exam-oriented, memorising through repetition is one of the best ways to get ahead in schools. Although this seems unnecessary during our younger years, it is true that the higher you study, the more impractical the lessons are going to become and as a result, harder to memorise naturally. In particular, hardly have I seen a student who excels at electromagnetic quizzes without having to cram the theory and constantly practice solving the problems. Nor have I encountered anyone who can recite the plot of "War and Peace" without having to take notes and learn it by heart. Since examinations judge how well students understand a concept by testing how detailed they can recall their memories about what they have been taught, rote learning is exceptionally useful for them to succeed at these kinds of assessments. Nonetheless, this method will do pupils more harm than good in the long run by impeding their creativity and the ability to reason logically. It is discernible that a person is certain to fail an exam if they are not able to apply the theory to solve new and advanced problems independently, simply because it is impossible to remember the answer to a question that you do not even know. Purely memorising information will only increase one's reliance on textbooks and deprive their ability to create anything of their own., a student would not be able to write her own university admission essays if she spent twelve years copying what others have written. After all, education is not just about academic performance, but it is about giving someone the tool and the knowledge to become a better individual and ultimately, to create something fruitful back to life. Things such as compassion and morality can not be learnt with only the brain, but also the heart. Therefore, remembering facts just defeats the true purpose of education eventually. In conclusion, much as memorizing is a convenient way to outdo your peers when you are still in schools, society is likely to render this technique useless due to the fact that a citizen's value is contingent upon how much they can create and give, not how much they can take. It is essential that students are not blinded by the instant gratification that they derive from this method and strive for a more sustainable one.