Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Honesty has long been considered as one of the most virtuous traits since people are often at a disadvantage when they do not resort to lies and deception to achieve want they want. However, the truth always hurts so bad that we, as a society, have made an exception for white lies, which are generally defined as well-intentioned alterations. By realising that truth -telling does not always benefit a certain situation, I do agree that fabrications to a moderate extent should be allowed. The most dangerous thing about allowing for lies is that people would always attempt to take advantage of them. Especially when things are not just black and white, right and wrong when it comes to our personal perceptions and believes, the delicate demarcation between justice and injustice can be easily violated. For instance, an inherent abuser would lure his wounded victims by sugarcoating them with untruths then exploit them in the name of love and salvage. Or politicians who try to win hearts over with far-fetched promises. What lies are doing is just to assuage the aching hearts of their audience, to lead them to believe in an alternative reality that has been fabricated in their heads. Words are never at fault, only the people who decide to use them. The power of deception is so great that can be used to uplift the moods of people and eventually, create incredible changes. A benign lie holds much more power than just plain truth in a way that it is able to spark motivation for somebody by dispelling all of their doubts about themselves in that particular moment. It is the same reason why Thomas Edison's mother lied about what his principal wrote to him when he was expelled. Had it not been for such a crucial alteration, Edison himself would not have made his name into the textbooks we read nowadays. What is more, untruth could act as a motivation or it may be coming from purely work ethics. That explains why doctors would at times have to be economical with the truth regarding their patients' newly discovered cancers. Were they to tell their patients the truth all the time, it would probably put an end to their will to live. In conclusion, there are situations where lies are of paramount importance because they would change things for the better rather than telling the truth. Although instances of people capitalizing on deception are abundant, white lies should become a general rule of thumb with regard to our daily interaction.