Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Using identical products all around the world has made all nations look almost the same, as people can purchase similar goods in different countries. I call it positive progress in globalization. Nowadays all the nations are moving toward globalization at a fast pace and “the more looking the same” is not an exception. Firstly, the coherence that is made by using similar goods is very positive, because people can all use the same things, so they can all enjoy the good quality products such as a branded cell phones wherever they are. Secondly the impact that it’s got on creating jobs cannot be denied. There will be more job opportunities as countries need to import and export goods. For,example if we look at the clothing industry, we can figure out that large numbers of population work for these companies, there are selling departments, packing groups and shipping companies to deliver the goods to the destination port and finally there are local distributors who sell to shops and boutiques. So many people are involved and can benefit from this industry. On the other hand, while it’s a positive development it’s got drawbacks too. Some local businesses lose their jobs because people tend to buy trendy products, such as fashionable clothes. Consequently those who produce traditional clothes will gradually be jobless and as a result some cultural heritage will slowly fade away. Another disadvantage can be the environmental effects of producing and shipping. For example, we can see very large quantities of garments and clothes produced by international companies every year and shipped by large carriers that are polluting the environment which has adverse environmental effects on air and water and on the whole ecosystems of the earth. In conclusion, as the world is going through a global modernization and the fast connection of nations, this change is inevitable, therefore it is logical that people and countries look more similar in every aspect which I believe can be a positive development through the cohesion that we can see among all nations.