Crime rates in most countries is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. What do you think? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

With the dawn of the 21st century, major metropolitan cities across the globe are reporting a higher crime rate compared to the countryside. This essay identifies numerous factors that contribute to this issue, such as higher living expenses, unemployment, misuse of technology, etcetera and recommends probable solutions that might curb such activities to an extent. Irrefutably, it is true that criminal activities that are reported across the world are on a steady rise, especially in urban communities. One of the major reasons that contribute to this trend is the migration of people from rural sides of a country to cities. This resulted in higher unemployment rates due to a surplus workforce in the job market, which forces people to engage in pickpocketing and stealing. Moreover, due to the surge in the inflation rate, individuals indulge in criminal activities to meet the standard of urbanized living. Additionally, information technology plays a significant role to elevate this problem such as hacking user’s data by offenders that lead to money laundering, bank frauds and blackmailing; which is uncommon in villages. On the other hand, there are certain measures that can be implemented by various regulatory bodies to tackle these issues. Firstly, various governments should implement uniform development in small cities and the countryside. This will attract business investments in those places that will ultimately generate employment opportunities and improve various amenities such as health infrastructure, sports facilities and transportation. Secondly, creating awareness programs related to online fraudulent activities and precautionary measures to safekeeping personal data using advanced security programs should be initiated by various legislative bodies. Lastly, financial institutions should take adequate measures to control inflation rates so that people might not fall prey to poverty. In conclusion, criminal activities in the urban world are found to have increased in comparison with the countryside due to a plethora of reasons and in my view, it is the responsibility of various governments to tackle these issues and they should consider some of the solutions proposed above.