In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The general notions about children ’s education vary between cultures. In some nations, particularly Asian countries, children are expected to obey a series of rules ranging from family to school, while in other parts of the world, they enjoy greater freedom. In my opinion, it is essential that parents and schools teach the next generation basic manners that are required in their everyday scenarios, but the level of restriction should be mild. To begin with, rules at home and at schools should be conscientiously taught and enforced. This is an important step for children to develop a sense of boundary and an awareness of proper action. Other than that, in public spaces, it is the duty of the parents to discipline the young offsprings when their conduct starts to interrupt people around. For example, when their speaking volumes are too high or when they stepped on someone’s toe in public transport. However, it should be noted that kids are still on the early stages of life, therefore imposing on them the same exceptions of the adults’ world would be unfair and overdoing. Table manners are a typical example. Strict table protocols require diners to sit still with their back straight, which is very difficult for children, generally born to be active and curious, to achieve. Furthermore, a lot of the rules taught to children are in fact unnecessary, like not talking to strangers. This pass on to the next generation the conceived notion that strangers are dangerous and unreliable, which hinders the children ’s development of social skills and confidence in others. In short, family rules and class manners are certainly a must for our young citizens to learn and master in order facilitate their further personal development, but the discipline should know its limits so as not to damage their freedom and curiosity.