Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays some individuals think that formal examinations are not capable of evaluating students ' knowledge effectively. I disagree with this statement and this essay will first look at why it is the best way to assess pupils' achievements compared to others and it shows students ' preparedness. To begin with, there are no other effective methods that would display knowledge as formal exams. This is because traditional exams consist of various types of tasks and, on top of that, it is possible to bribe examiners. There is ample evidence to support this fact such as the holding of examinations in all countries to enter an educational institution and there are no exceptions at all. Thus, it is conclusively clear that exams have proved their efficiency all over the world. Furthermore, exams are specially prepared by teachers on all topics that have been studied previously. So it estimates students ' awareness for a long period which means that passing it requires effort and readiness. As an illustration, twice a year, students who study at universities take an exam in order to demonstrate their knowledge of all the lessons they have completed. This affirms the substantial role of exams in measuring knowledge. To sum up, even though the vast majority believe that a formal exam is not the best way to assess educational achievements, there are so many advantages to it such as demanding preparedness; deep knowledge not superficial, and the absence of methods that would provide a thorough test of knowledge over a long term.