Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways . To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News plays a vital role in society. It is thought by some that the news media have had an adverse impact on individuals' lives. Although I understand the negative aspects of news reporting, I entirely disagree with this view and believe that the news media contribute to a safer and more fulfilling life. Individuals in society reap the benefit of information that the news media deliver. Through receiving the news, the public gain an understanding of the current affairs, which helps them to be productive members of society. Furthermore, news informing about people's achievements allows them to develop a positive attitude towards the world. For example, participants of the Tokyo Olympic held in 2021 spread positive messages across the world, teaching citizens about the importance of hard work, dedication and fairness. Some people might argue that the excessive amount of negative news, such as mass killing and natural disasters, has had a negative effect on individuals' mental health. However, reporting such events is essential in order for the public to take preventive measures for the future. In Japan, for instance, the news about the Great East Japan Earthquake which occurred in 2011 not only helped people in affected areas with the evacuation process but also contributed to the increased awareness about natural disasters among citizens in the country. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that news providers have affected people's lives negatively for psychological and safety reasons. It is crucial that we utilise information from the news media to improve our lives and society.