Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsorypart of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improvingthe neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent doyou agree or disagree?

Some people think that free social activities should be a mandatory part of high school programs. While students who take part in these activities may face some unexpected issues, I agree that educators should design required community services for their high school students without any payments. On the one hand, the most considerable trouble that affects students when participating in public activities is the shortage of time. Particularly, they may be less focused on their core lessons in class, even lack leisure time because of spending too much time on community services. Besides, there are obligatory services which do not suit everyone. For example, working for a charity in mountainous places suburban areas requires students to have to go far away or teaching sports to younger children at an outdoor stadium demands good health. All of these types of work do not fit the weak girls or unhealthy students. On the other hand, attending unpaid public services will bring great benefits to high school students. Firstly, these programs create a positive environment for students to be raised in a holistic way, not only improving their social knowledge but also motivate their perception about outdoor life. This is really an appropriate method to train them on how to work for the interest of the community instead of living only for themselves. Secondly, taking part in public activities such as volunteer campaigns and charity organizations is a highlighted point that makes their resume brilliant. If an applicant who has the same qualification, as well as experiences with other candidates, would like to apply for a scholarship or a competitive job, his past activities for the interest of the community may make an outstanding contribution in helping him defeat the others. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages, it seems to me that we should design more unpaid obligatory community programs for high school students.