In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. what are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic jam is a serious issue in some states and it can be quite concerning. I personally feel that the government should take strict action against those who purposefully create this situation. However, the view on whether the government should impose taxes on private owners has been unsettled. The pros of charging tax from private car holders and then using it for improving public transportation will bring a slight reduction in traffic congestion. Moreover, carkeepers might develop the fear of paying more taxes which will eventually lead them to drive responsibly. As a result, most of the people taking public transport to their workplace won't be late. Curbing down travel can also help in improving the mental and physical health of quite a few individuals. On the contrary, with advantages come disadvantages too. The law taking taxes only from the private vehicle owners might show a little bias towards the public vehicles because traffic can be caused by anyone be it public or private. In addition, the local public will never know if the money collected is truly being used to develop public transportation. The locals will never know about this because arguing with the officials is like barking at the wrong tree. In conclusion, I would say that the national bodies should show signs of fairness towards any action being taken regardless of private or public-owned motor vehicles. Because, mistakes can happen to anyone but giving a fair judgement is the solution. Furthermore, they should create such a system through which the people know that the funds are going into the right hands and not being misused.