Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is inevitable that the world, along with the people and facilities, is progressing. It is often argued by some that ancestral structures should be replaced by modernized buildings. However, others think that preservation of these is necessary. In this essay, I will be discussing both sides before giving my own opinion. On the one hand, preserving them would pose a safety hazard for not only the citizens but also the other structures in the surrounding area. For example, a 20-storey hotel built in the early 1800s would have a high risk of not being able to withstand earthquakes of high intensities. The reason for this is that the design was modelled from the standards of the early ages. Consequently, its structural integrity is questionable since weather patterns and soil conditions were greatly different compared to modern times. On the other hand, it is appropriate to retain them for cultural appreciation. For instance, an ancient library in the city centre was used by William Shakespeare, one of the most notable playwrights. If it is opened to the public, it will instantly become a tourist attraction. The funds collected can be used for renovations and further promotion of the area. Moreover, it can promote higher employability rates since such amenities can offer job opportunities for the locals. In summary, it is often thought that old structures should be demolished and replaced with homes and new buildings. Although, some believe that protection is a must. The overall design was adapted from regulations that are not applicable nowadays. However, preserving would encourage people to learn about the culture of the area. In my opinion, these should be protected to not only promote history but also to open more jobs.