Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? It is sometimes argued that home waste is not recycled enough and the governments should make some laws for this problem. While I agree with this opinion, I think that besides laws, education and other solutions are needed too. In my opinion, a new recycling law would be just one way to deal with the waste problem. Governments should make some legal obligations for householders to separate their waste into different bins. There should be some punishments for people who disobey the rules, ranging from a small fine to community service, or even jail sentences for repeat offenders. These consequences may act as a deterrent and encourage people to follow the recycling law. Therefore, we would have a clean, waste -free environment. Besides, I believe that governments have more responsibilities than introducing recycling laws. It might be more effective if they focus on education more and put a specific budget for it. For example, children should be taught about recycling in school and homeowners should be informed about the environmental impact of household waste. Moreover, politicians can introduce some rules for factories that produce household item’s packaging to print information about how to recycle the package on its label. Finally, they can put a budget to improve recycling facilities and systems, so that waste is processed more effectively, regardless of whether or not being separated at home correctly. In conclusion, making some laws for waste problem may indeed be effective, but it is not the only solution and other circumstances should be considered too.