International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

A booming industry, international tourism has gotten momentum quickly. Undoubtedly, it benefits tourist places enormously. However, it has several disadvantages too. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether the merits outweigh the demerits. Looking at the positive side, by levying heavy taxes on foreigners, the government can earn handsome revenue, making the nation's economy even more substantial. Further, as tourists come from remote areas, they need several facilities, such as accommodations, food and tour guides, which increase the employment prospects for local folks. For example, there are several countries whose citizens are dependent on tourism. Moreover, people get an opportunity to demonstrate their local culture to foreigners, which improves the nation's respect on the global platform. On the other hand, looking at the negative side, increasing transportation increases air and noise pollution in the local area, which can have a deleterious effect on the health of local dwellers. Additionally, heavy littering wastage by visitors makes the situation worse for the locals. For instance, it is surveyed by the National Tourist Department that they find a million tons of waste every year, around only one famous place, the red fort, in India. As there are several such places available in India, the total wastage is astoundingly high. Although, the amount of disposal of these wastages is lower than the revenue generated by tourism. To conclude, despite several disadvantages of this industry, it has a plethora of benefits too. So, according to me, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.