Many Countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Many nations are facing issues that involve the inclination of the number of migrants from villages to urban areas. This trend is happening because of the fewer work opportunity and poor educational facilities available in rural places. There are a few effects like the cost of living getting increased and declined standard of living which existing city dwellers are combating nowadays. Firstly, the main reason for the migration of the population from remote areas to metropolitan cities is the difficulty in finding employment. Since the vast majority of multinational companies resides and have offices in cities, there is an acute shortage of work in villages. Apart from this, most of the remote areas have limited numbers of schools or universities. In order to pursue higher studies an individual needs to immigrate from rural place to town. To illustrate, many people in India migrate from the northern to the southern part of the country in search of a job moreover, most of the prestigious universities are also located in big towns. Therefore, the reason for migration from villages to urban areas can be depended on education and work purposes. On the other hand, a higher level of immigration is affecting citizens living in big towns badly. This is because cities are getting overpopulated which results in a poor standard of living. Housing societies are getting crowded and people are bound to live in smaller spaces with limited resources. Alternatively, the cost of living is also getting increased as there is more demand for water,food and house whereas fewer commodities are available to be purchased by any person. For example, Hong Kong in China is an overcrowded city and a majority of people are living in less than 100 sqft houses. The expenses for food,rent are also skyrocketing and 2 bedroom apartment can cost more than a middle-aged person's yearly salary. Thus, the migration of people has affected city dwellers negatively due to expensive costs and declined standard of living. To conclude, the cause of higher migration is less opportunity of work and bad quality of educational services present in the countryside whereas it affects citizens living in cities badly as they no longer can afford the cost of living and there is also a substantial reduction in the standard of living.