In some countries, it is illegal for employers to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

Presently few companies are not accepting candidates due to their age. However, this act is illegal in some countries. I strongly agree that it is a positive evolvement for its ubiquitous merits. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the reasons that support my opinion. To begin with, the current attempt that has been taken by some countries, of making the rejection of job seekers illegal if it was for the age purpose. Has brought enormous benefits to societies. First, it helped with reducing the unemployment rate amongst those in their late 40’s and early 50’s by 30%, according to a study that had been conducted by Chicago university in 2015. Second, with the imposing of this,regulation many companies started to pay more attention to this group of people by implementing suitable training programs for them, in order to benefit from their rich experience. Moreover, after this regulation had been distributed amongst several countries, the productivity level in the labour market has been increasing ever since. Since this system, a plethora of companies have noticed that with allowing these job opportunities to the older group of people, the level of the outcomes had been trending to the positive side, and they link it to the level of expertise who have been brought by this group. In conclusion, many countries imposed a regulation which is preventing rejecting candidates due to their age, which is a step that I strongly agree with due to its tremendous pros, such as reducing the unemployment level among the older group and, the spectacular outcomes that were brought to the labour market by hiring them.