Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in Zoos. Others, believe that there are good reasons of having Zoos. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many believe that zoos are antiquated and inhumane. In my opinion, though zoos raise legitimate ethical concerns, their value for conservation is greater than ever before. Critics of zoos argue that the animal life simulated it is unnatural. In the majority of zoos, animals are kept in small enclosures or cages. Any visitor to a zoo is first struck by the lack of energy and vitality present in animals not living in their natural habitats and fending for themselves. This unnatural divorce from their intended purpose in life is inherently unethical. Added to this is the fact that there are now alternatives to zoos. In countries such as Kenya and Tanzania, where the Serengeti is located, there are sprawling national preserves that accomplish the dual aims of aiding animal conservation and allowing interested spectators to see wildlife up close. Nonetheless, zoos are principal locations for wildlife research and preservation initiatives. Nearly every zoo will not only allow local researchers to learn more about animals but also contain programs for increasing population numbers. The hastening of climate change has brought disastrous results to animal habitats around the world and thousands of animals are now endangered. It is nearly impossible to quickly restore their homes so the only option remaining is to breed animals in captivity to increase their numbers and then release them into the wild later. This situation is unfortunate but necessary and will only become more essential in years to come as greater numbers of species are threatened and zoos become a key location for raising both public awareness and population levels. In conclusion, despite the moral hazards zoos entail, their effect on wildlife conservation is crucial. Countries should therefore continue to maintain their current zoos.