Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in Zoos. Others, believe that there are good reasons of having Zoos. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Zoos are common around the world. Some people are of the view that wild species should not be kept in captivity, whereas others believe that these wild animals should be kept in the Zoos as there are some advantages to that. This essay discusses both views and give an opinion. Keeping wild species in Zoos may cause stress to the animals. Big cats such as elephants, lions or leopards are used to their natural habitat, which is the wilderness, and keeping these wild animals in the captivity restrict their movement thus causing stress. Conditions in the captivity may also be crumpled. Some of these wild species require ample spaces, which may not be available in the urban areas. As such, the environment where they are kept may not be conducive for their survival, hence affecting their general wellbeing. In a worst-case scenario, these species may end up dying because of unconducive living environment. On the other hand, the survival of wild animals that are on the verge of extinction is guaranteed if they are kept in the Zoos. The rate at which species such as rhinos or elephants are being porched is alarming. Therefore, it is always important to make sure that these animals are protected by all means. Furthermore, animals being kept in the Zoos help in research and educational purpose. They can be constantly monitored and studied while in the Zoo as compared to their natural habitat. Moreover, urban residents will also have an opportunity to visit the Zoos instead of traveling to parks or wilderness thus saving their money and time. In my opinion, not every wild species should be in the captivity. Those that their existence is on the line should only be kept in the Zoos, whereas those whose wild population is not threatened should always be in the wild.