In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In this day and age, several countries are revealing an increasing ageing population due to the advancement in technology. This trend is believed to trigger numerous issues in people ’s lives, which will be illustrated in this essay before some solutions are provided. To commence with, it is undeniable that the domination of old citizens on the population pyramid is disadvantageous for both governments and individuals. The primary reason is that national authorities will have to use a greater amount of funding for pension and health care services for the elderly, which leaves little money left for tackling more serious problems such as poverty and unemployment. As a result, this puts a strain on the national budget and hinders communal development. Another concern regarding longer life expectancy is that youngsters will have to spend more time on taking care of their parents. Young adults nowadays are leading such a hectic schedule that they can hardly crave enough time from their work to rest, let alone look after other people. Having to do this, their leisure time will be shortened, which puts them under greater pressure, leading to some severe mental illnesses such as depression in the long-term. To address this issue, the primary solution is for governments to raise the retirement age. Not only does this provide more opportunities for senior citizens to be independent, but it also makes a huge contribution to the growth of the nation. For example, were the retirement age to be increased, people could earn more money and be more active, which prevent them from being a burden for others. Additionally, nursing homes are a good idea for this situation. When staying in these centers, the elderly can make friends with people, which reduces the sense of loneliness and benefits their mental health, and their well-being as well as health condition will always be supervised. Thus, this measure is beneficial for both old people and their offspring. In conclusion, it is true that a highly-aged population could have some drawbacks in terms of state budget and the lives of youngsters. However, all of these obstacles can be overcome by raising the retirement age and utilizing nursing homes.