Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Influential athletics events, including FIFA and the Olympics, have been topics of global discussion since their first appearance. While they are considered to be in line with national interests by some, others are of the opinion that these competitions are rather futile. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and argue that whether a sporting event is advantageous to a country depends on specific contexts. Normally, hosting a globally acknowledged sports gathering can bring tremendous economic gains to the country. For example, international athletics teams should require high-class accommodation and catering services for an extended period of time during which they practice and familiarize themselves with the new environment to optimize their performance in official matches. Additionally, the town will attract numerous sports enthusiasts who will also be spending on hotels, restaurants, sightseeing, and many other local products. As a result, a surge in GDP will result from this inward flow of money. To illustrate this point, nations preparing for international games oftentimes expect to earn billions of dollars after the season; to most countries, therefore, it is a pleasure to be chosen as the host for a particular occasion. Nonetheless, during times of global crisis, it is best for countries to abstain from the duty of preparing for these international competitions. Before reaping any profits, the financial and time-wise costs shouldered by the hosting nation is enormous: developing the stadium, renovating important venues where high-ranking officials meet, and countless other tasks associated with the event demand huge investments. In cases of global disasters such as the 2008 recession and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, sports teams, as well as tourists, may not be able nor willing to travel, meaning that the host may not be able to recover its capital, not to mention profits. Subsequently, with large uncompensated expenses, its national economy will likely plunge into a recession that is damaging to the residents’ life quality. This can be seen in Japan where the Olympics failed to take place in 2020 due to the spread of COVID 19. Although it was rescheduled to 2021, the predicted income was much lower than would be if the pandemic did not occur. In conclusion, hosting an athletics event in normal situations is very beneficial to a nation. However, when there are instabilities on a global scale, investing in such costly events can be counter-productive. Thus, in my opinion, a country should only make preparations for international games when the world is in balance in terms of finance and other aspects. Otherwise, it would be recommended to halt the undertaking until a more suitable time.