In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, In many countries, the highly controversial topic is that whether to spend more funds in constructing railway tracks for fast trains between cities or to use the fund in the improvement of existing public transport facilities. In my opinion, the existing transportation should be enhanced. To begin with, many people in the country are of the opinion that bullet trains should be developed for linking different provinces. The development of bullet trains across various cities has many benefits. Firstly, less time of people will be consumed as they will be able to reach their destination quickly and easily. Secondly, the construction of new railway trains will provide temporary as well as permanent employment to the people of the nation. For example, Japan being the most technologically advanced country enjoys the benefit of bullet trains, as citizens here can commute easily and quickly. Moreover, many people there are employed in this transportation service. On the other hand, a section of the society believes that the existing transportation should be improved. There is indeed a need to develop existing public transport like bus service because the majority of the people who utilise this service are a working-class and not everyone can afford to travel in a bullet train, also by replacing the current mode of transport with the electric buses can improve the environment. Thus, the construction of the electric buses will prove to be cost and environment friendly. For instance, Vancouver has the facility of electric buses as a public transport this has improved the quality of life there, In fact, Vancouver has been listed in the top 10 cities in the world which has a quality life. Furthermore, by using electric buses greenhouse gas emissions can be prevented. To conclude, constructing a new mode of transportation that is the bullet trains is beneficial but improving the current facility to commute is more significant as it will be cost and environment friendly.