Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that over the last years, the amount of people learning foreign languages has dramatically increased. A segment of society is convinced that travel and work are the only reasons that push people to learn a foreign language. Others, however, believe that there are more reasons to start exploring a language. I completely agree with the latter view. In some people's opinion, learning a foreign language is necessary only if they are going to travel or need that language for work purposes. Apparently, while travelling individuals can benefit if they can express their needs in the local language. Take, for example, Asia. Many Korean or Japanese do not know the English language; therefore, English speaking visitors would need a translator in order to communicate with the local people. Subsequently, travellers should learn at least basic expressions. Secondly, international organizations frequently hire local people who can speak their native language. Individuals, by learning a foreign language can increase their chances to get hired and earn a higher salary. Nevertheless, there are more pros to learning a foreign language. People who speak more than one language have improved memory, problem-solving and critical-thinking skills enhanced concentration and the ability to multitask. Obviously, learning a foreign language can facilitate all-around personal development. Additionally, if students would like to get an education in a foreign country, they would have to learn a foreign language. For instance, nowadays, many educational institutions require language certificates such as IELTS or TOEFL. To conclude, learning a foreign language may be beneficial on many levels, starting from improving memory to being able to study overseas and more. Therefore, learning foreign languages is gaining popularity.