Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that over the last years travelling has been gaining popularity. However, sometimes travellers face cultural conflicts. Therefore, a segment of society is convinced that tourists have to comply with the local behaviour. While others believe that the host country should be tolerant of cultural differences. I completely agree with the former view. Some people believe that the host country should welcome visitors under any circumstances. This is because tourism greatly supports the economy of the country. This is wrong in my opinion due to several factors. First and foremost, not following the local behaviour can gradually alter the culture of local communities. Eventually, in the long term perspective, all countries will become identical, which is not the desired outcome. Secondly, not adopting local culture may deeply hurt native habitats. Take, for example, Muslim countries. Not covering the head with a scarf and revealing some parts of the body by female visitors can be not accepted by the majority of local people and result in unpleasant situations. Alternatively, adopting the behaviour of a country can be beneficial in many ways. To start with, one of the main reasons for travelling is experiencing the local culture firsthand. This enables visitors to enhance their travelling experience. Additionally, travellers following the local cultural norms can be easily accepted by society and get more opportunities to have an enjoyable and interesting time. For instance, local people can invite tourists to their homes or show the places only local people know about. To conclude, by complying with the culture, visitors express their respect to the country and people living in it. Thus, I believe that tourists should follow the local cultural norms.