Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People have different views regarding whether organizing an international sports event is beneficial or not for a nation. In this essay, I will discuss both views and present my personal opinion. On the one hand, hosting a global sports events could bring several merits. Firstly, this activity allows a country to raise its profile through imagery displayed in the media. As a result, that country might witness a surge in the number of tourists, which provides an increase in spending and injection of money into the local economy. Secondly, the hosting country could receive a long-term investment coming from preparing for the sport events. It is because after a country is chosen to host, it has to enhance and upgrade all infrastructures from sports facilities to general ones such as transportation, train lines or airports; as a result, the local people could take advantage from that improvement. On the other hand, in my opinion, being a host of international sporting events can be a burden. First of all, the cost of building infrastructure could take a toll on the public budget, which should have been allocated to other urgent problems such as poverty and disease control. Moreover, the influx of visitors to the host country due to sporting events could raise a problem of security resulting in implementing higher levels of security. This is both costly and can restrict freedom of movement of local citizens during games. In conclusion, although global sporting events could do wonders for a country owing to the enhancement of reputation as well as investment, in my opinion, it still has disadvantages regarding prohibitive costs and the issue of security.