Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are eye-witnesses to how the rapid development of technology led to the emergence of faster and more effective ways of communication. This is in turn followed by the increasing number of people depending on mobile phones and computers to exchange information.While some people believe such a trend will undermine the skills for people to communicate face to face, I disagree with this opinion to a great extent. Admittedly, communicating with others in real life is not simply about talking. Eye contact, facial expression and body language also contribute to successful face to face conversation as these skills make the listeners pay more attention to your content and promote better understandings. Without good control in the eyes and facial expression, some people may be too embarrassed and nervous to start or continue a conversation with others. However, by texting and typing messages we also practise our ability to combine words into sentences in our minds and eventually express ourselves. For instance, when having diverse opinions on the internet, people use logic and evidence to demonstrate their ideas and to argue with people of different opinions. Furthermore, some communication applications on phones and computers have a function called video call, which allows people to see the image of others ' faces during a conversation. In addition, switching from talking face to face to methods with more connection with technology only changes the medium of connection. With expressing ideas and exchanging thoughts as human nature, an individual should be able to use their language to communicate no matter what medium they use. To sum up, although increasing dependence on technology in communication may lead to reduced practice for using eye contact, facial expression and body language which also play a significant role in communicating with others in real life, there is little difference between the two methods in terms of language use and the ability to communicate is an instinct.