Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the recent years, people are travelling more frequently by flights due to a drop in ticket prices, which caused raised in air pollution and noise levels. Some believe that, if government start imposing a high traffic tax, it could reduce air traffic significantly. I am a strong opponent of such practice as this will impact tourism and make flight travel less affordable for the public. Firstly, one of the biggest problems with this approach is that it will advertently impact the airline industry. In other words, due to high fares, people stop travelling by flights to their holiday destinations by which will affect the airline company revenue. They might prefer to travel by other cheaper means of transportation rather than expensive priced flight tickets. For instance, a recent delta airline report shows the steep decline in quarterly revenue due to a rise in tax price for flights travelling to exotic destinations. Secondly, imposing such high taxes makes it less affordable to a large number of mediocre families and students. Especially to families who might not be able to purchase overpriced tickets with high taxes. For example, The New York Times report shows that 60% of tourists cannot travel to tourist places like Miami and Las Vegas because of expensive fare rates. To conclude, government taxing airlines to reduce air traffic will have a minor impact on air pollution and noise levels. This approach is not worth considering to improve the current situation because it will decrease airline company revenue and make it less affordable to the visitors and the general public travelling by flights to vacation places.