Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is a growing concern on the allocation of students studying time at school. When students are spending most of their time learning history and other subjects, it is argued that shools should teach more about necessary working skills which can help them prepare well before entering into the labour market. However, I disagree with this argument because I think both subjects and skills share the same importance to help graduates find a job. History and other subjects such as geography play an cruel role in childrens’ mental development. Since children begin to explore the world in their shool life, it is necessary to provide such learners a common knowledge of their surroundings. For example, they should study geography to understand their location with other countries and relationship between them in a world that is ruled by globalization. Moreover, it is important for pupils to gadget a historical background that eases any sense of insecurity and uncertainty. Studying historical events can reinforces a sense of belonging in youth and help them draw the contour of the future. Thus, it is essential to reserve a place for subjects in schools for the sake of students’ mental health. On the other hand, if life and working skills are faded in the curriculum, graduates will encounter issues of unemployment or losing jobs. Therefore, it is significant to develop skills such as computing and communication in the school life. Nordic countries, for instance, are well-known for their successful education and national welfare, which can attribute to a comprehensive learning system in academic years. They focus on children childrens computational basics and polish their communication skills as well as given opportunity for learners to self-learn traditional subjects. As a result, graduates who have already possessed certain skills fulfilling social needs can find a job with a good salary but also keep a healthy social environment in workplaces. In conclusion, from my point of view, it is important to split time equally to traditional curriculum and social skills which can help learners find their preferred careers. Only this method can aid graduates outstand in an competition-intensified world.