People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a number of factors that have an impact on consumer behaviour. I agree that most of them are related to the age, despite the fact that some are not age -related. Consumers of different ages may have different shopping habits because their buying power differs. This is particularly true for countries where inflation has bitten into households' budgets and people are cost-conscious. As people grow older, they may not be able to earn as much money as before, thereby paying attention to those products which represent good value for money. Their shopping is limited to household products that are essential to their needs, in sharp contrast to hi-tech gadgets, video games and stylish clothes purchased by young people, who strongly believe in their income-earning capacity. For those in their thirties or forties, who normally enjoy a higher level of salary, they may have a stronger interest in purchasing luxuries to show they are financially successful. Another reason why age groups have different shopping habits is that their roles in family and society vary. What people buy hinges on their needs, the ways of living as well as the activities they engage in every day. With age, people will expect changes in physical strength, skills, knowledge and mental abilities: pensioners shop possibly once every week as they do not have energy for tiring shopping trips. They also shy away from online shopping as they suffer from impaired vision and have difficulty in browsing websites, comparing prices and handling e-payment. Because of their lower interest in strenuous exercise, they hardly spend money on fitness equipment and camping gear, but as their physical condition declines, they tend to spend more of their budget on medication and healthcare products. On the other hand, for some people, other personal factors may have a strong impact on their lifestyles and attitudes, which affect their buying habits. People vary considerably in terms of personalities, lifestyles and fields of work, so it is not easy to make generalisations about the preferences of an age group. Retires can live different lives as their personal savings, socio-economic backgrounds and world views differ. Meanwhile, gender, physical condition and other biological factors also have their roles to play in determining one's habits and buying behaviours. Elderly people who lead a physically active life may spend more money on sportswear than those who are inactive. In conclusion, a great many predictors of consumer behaviour are related to the age, although some other factors, which have no relevance to the age group, also come into play in a consumer's decision-making process.