Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

It is commonly argued that volunteer community service is supposed to be an important part in high school curriculums. I entirely agree with this point of view, as I believe that it can increase chances in applying for jobs and improve students ’ soft skills. First of all, nowadays many organisations look for charity experiences which students have done apart from studying. The experiences can increase opportunities in applying for jobs or universities. This is because these activities can represent students ’ behaviours. For instance, a qualification that the organisations required, students must have done any extracurricular activities such as volunteer activities, because it relates to their careers. These experiences enable students to better understand people’s lives in society. Although it is not necessary for every orgationations organisations, it can upgrade a student's profile. Furthermore, working for a charity can develop soft skills, due to the fact that students get hard skills from studying in classes but doing volunteer work allows students to acquire many soft skills. For instance, before improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children, students have to make a plan or discuss with people in a rural area. So in these activities students can get the decision making, communication and critical thinking skills. If there are no these charity activities, students might have no chance to get these skills. All in all, students acquire several advantages from charity work such as increasing their chances in applying for jobs and developing their soft skills. In my opinion, unpaid community service is essential and should be added in the schools’ programs.