Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

There are a plethora of countries that are faced with a significant increase in population, therefore, accommodation is crucial for them. This essay will first consider an option of building new houses in already existing cities and it will then take into account an option of building new towns in the rural area. The first option to consider is building residences in existing regions. It is clear that accommodation in big cities would be beneficial for people since it provides them with better career opportunities and accessibility to the necessary facilities. For instance, if a certain individual wants to visit a specialized medical institution, it will be easier for him to get there rather than travelling for a long time from the countryside. However, on the other hand, a problem with overpopulation will not be resolved if new dwellings are built in busy urban areas. If new houses were built in bigger cities, an issue regarding a high number of residents living within one area will not improve. As a result, the main facilities of large regions will always be busy which, therefore, won’t decrease the number of people situated in one area. The formation of houses within small rural areas would be more beneficial since an issue with overpopulation would improve in that regard. In conclusion, while the benefits of the construction of facilities in big cities will be beneficial for the population itself, there wouldn’t be a significant improvement in regard to overpopulation problems. Therefore, building new towns in the countryside where these houses would be built will be a better outcome.