Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

There is no doubt that colours can have a significant effect on how people feel, and this had been confirmed by many psychologists. Therefore, many interior designers have been taking into considerations when choosing their tone combinations to decorate different places. This statement is highly credible, and colours also have an immense effect on others' overall health and their job performance. Scientists believe that colour has a major impact on society's feelings, and vice versa since many dresses themselves based on what they are feeling at the moment or whom they are meeting. Consequently, many artists and designers utilize the colouring board or palette to choose their base and addition shades with different techniques and methods. Furthermore, they can have many tones so these professionals need to combine them without creating too much contrast, in order to fit with different places and purposes. For example, working offices avoid choosing too dark or bright shades to prevent their employees to feel gloomy or getting distracted by their surroundings, so most of them choose to paint and decorate the workplace with neutral schemes. Additional effects of colour are the ability to influence society's health and their performance at work. Many organizations believe that to optimize their worker's capacity for work, they need to focus on their tasks rather than getting distracted by their coworkers or environments. Therefore, they opt to decorate with neutral tones to create a suitable workplace with no additional distractions. However, many pigment combinations have been used in hospitals since different areas serve specific purposes. For instance, in patient's or staff's rooms, many pastel palettes are used to create a relaxing environment, whereas operation rooms or doctors' and nurses' scrubs are usually dark blue or green, which can neutralize the red so they can focus on the patient's blood. In conclusion, psychologists have proven that colour serves as an important factor affecting people's feelings so many designers utilize the statement to create an appropriate working place. Moreover, different tones also affect people's overall well-being and performance at work.