Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent times, there has been an increasing number of people who support the idea that formal examinations are not a suitable way to assess how students perform at school and that examinations should be replaced completely. In my opinion, while I agree that continuous assessment is an effective way to measure students ’ performance, I believe that formal examinations should also be maintained. On the one hand, I accept that continual assessment is a useful method to evaluate students ability. First of all, these assessments allow students who work at a slower pace more time to work on their course or projects and put up with those with faster pace. The teachers can also observe and assist students who cannot catch up with their classmates, therefore, the teachers can give students more opportunities to improve during the term. Furthermore, assessments such as presentations, designs, filming a video, etc can create creativity and encourage team work which is an important skill for the future. On the other hand, formal examinations are also a satisfactory way to measure the students ’ performance. Firstly, they are a fair system and also the easiest tool to regularly assess students ’ capability. Every student has an equal opportunity since they all do the same exam at the same time, meaning that those who work hard will be rewarded with high grades. Another advantage is that exams promote competitiveness among students as they have to work harder to improve their knowledge and skills if they want to have better results compared to other students. In conclusion, I believe that both continuous assessment and formal examinations are effective in different ways. Therefore, both of those methods should be used to assess the students comprehensively.