Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Currently, there is an ongoing debate about whether museums and galleries ought to be available for everyone or should pay a charge for the entrance. Although some people believe that free entry may bring various benefits to society, In my opinion raising the admission fee has more advantages. To begin with, the museums and the art galleries require the funds to save their existence. If there is no ticket for entrance, the exhibitions may not be self-sufficient. Therefore, those expenses will be a burden on the government. Thus, many museums and galleries may suffer from a lack of sponsorship. Hence, the general public should be charged an entry fee. For instance, this money can be used to give salary for the people who work there and the money can also be used for renovations. However, if there is no entrance expense, more citizens can be encouraged to learn about art and history. This means that arts are more available for the public. In addition, free museums and galleries may have a positive impact on the development of education, as the schools can take their students to many cultural and historical exhibitions which can be useful for students. To conclude, a possible compromise would be that the museums and galleries charge a reasonable amount of fee during their peak seasons in order to get funds for regular maintenance. However, when it comes to off-season, they should be opened free of charge to the public. The museums and galleries should be free for all children who are below 18 years. This would encourage them to visit these places and improve their knowledge of their history and culture.