In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In recent years, the number of vehicles on the road has climbed up considerably. This has immediately been an issue for many countries. This problem has its sources as well as ideas to remedy it. To begin with, a significant percentage of the population around the world have their own vehicle. Each family has at least one or two cars. These people benefit from it as a mode of transport to commute to their destinations such as workplace, shopping mall or at their relative's place. Few of them would go by bus or take the metro. They find it easier and more comfortable to travel in their own car. On the other hand, companies that offer delivery services usually use countless goods vehicles. This ultimately leads to traffic congestion on the roadway. Now, in some countries, road development is quite poor. The street is sometimes narrow or has cracks. Consequently, this also contributes to a high rate of traffic. One measure that can be taken is to sensitize the car owners. They should be encouraged to travel by bus rather than using the car more often. The government could take initiatives like lowering the bus fare or increasing the frequency of buses on the road. A sustainable idea could be offering each family a bicycle motivating them to consider other means of transport. Also, they should try to solve this issue by implementing and building highways with more lanes as well as using more durable materials to construct the roads. Last but not least, companies need to find a way to change the working shifts for their employees. Thereby, decreasing the density of workers and the number of vehicles. To conclude, traffic jams can only be eradicated if the causes are taken into considerations. The government could play a huge role in resolving this problem.