It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend so you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Understanding the difference between what is correct and incorrect in this society is vital for any group age. One person's habit starts from an early stage. I believe discipline is part of any correction to some extent.  On one hand, to educate any child on what is acceptable and what is not in the world we live in limits the danger they might face in their coming life. Although, verbal discussion might be enough, however does not put emphasis on it to the full extent. For instance, a student in class steals a book from the library and brings it home. Firstly, stealing any kind of material is a felony. This time might be a book, similarly, stealing a car might be in the future. Instead of putting him in detention, it might be best to correct this act verbally. However, if it happens continuously, I believe discipline should come in place. By doing so, this child will be cautious of the idea that you are not meant to take what does not belong to you. Secondly, there are different ways of trial when one does not do the Christian thing. To some extent, correcting children by some sort of method is more efficient than physical abuse. Punishment can set a boundary to limit the repetition of a mistake. Children starting from a young age should learn that every action has its consequence which shapes their mind in the future.  All in all, parents could start educating their kids about the difference between what is acceptable and what is unacceptable in the life we live in. Besides abuse, if verbal communication is able to be implemented and proves that it working, suffering could be the last option to be taken of.