It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important? Do you agree or disagree?

Wildlife plays a vital role in our lives. It is thought by some that wildlife conservation projects are funded by the government more than they are supposed to be considering the prevalence of other pressing issues. I entirely disagree with this view and think that the protection of animals leads to the overall improvement of society. Firstly, wildlife conservation efforts contribute to alleviating all the other environmental problems because a large part of it is improving the habitat for animals. This would include planting trees in forests and regulating littering and emissions of harmful substances. Spending governmental money on animal protection, for this reason, is a cost-effective way to address all the environmental issues that the country is facing. In Japan, for instance, in order to save the White Stork, which lives in the central part of Japan and was on the verge of extinction, the government focused on habitat preservation along with breeding efforts. Consequently, not only was the species successfully reintroduced into the wild, the air and water quality of the region significantly improved, which benefited the local residents. Some might argue that the conservation of wildlife has no positive impact on social issues such as poverty and homelessness. I nevertheless believe that the improvement of the natural habitat for animal species could have a favourable effect on the country's economy. This is because the cleaner landscape and natural areas with rich ecosystems would attract tourists. Increased tourist revenue certainly boosts the economy and this additional fund could be used to tackle social problems. A good example is Singapore, which imposes strict restrictions in order to keep the environment clean and enjoys a considerable amount of tourism income as a result. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea that the government should allocate less funds to protecting wildlife. It is crucial that a country ensure healthy ecosystems for environmental and social sustainability.