Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Complete inland food production and little imports is a popular idea among certain sections of the society. These people argue that imports put pressure on the government; therefore, countries should be self-sufficient in food production. In my opinion, this argument is partially flawed and countries should maintain a balance between imports and in house production. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the reasons for the same. Undoubtedly, imports create pressure on the economy of a nation and food being the basic necessity, import of agricultural produce can soar the import debts. Moreover, natural calamities, such as floods, tsunamis, can disrupt supply chains, creating a severe shortage of food in a country. For instance, at the outbreak of Covid 19 imports took a hit and many countries that were dependent on imports for the farm produce faced the shortage problem. On the other side, producing food for the entire population requires resources that can be better utilized otherwise. Imagine the amount of land required to produce food for an entire nation. There is an opportunity cost of not using the land for industries and factories that can produce goods and services to be exported. Moreover, the land a nation possess may not support farm production because of various reasons such as quality of soil, weather etc. In such cases, huge investments are required to make the land fertile enough to produce quality yields. These investments can be better utilized to set up corporations for better returns on capital infused. To summarise, having a complete inland production of food is not a strong argument because of various flaws discussed above. Nations should try to maintain a balance between imports and self- production for optimized results.