Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development in information technology, people have become to access news on the internet rather than in newspapers. While some people hold the view that newspapers will continue to be the most crucial source of news for the population, I partially disagree with this statement for the following reasons. Admittedly, newspapers can play one of the most important roles in delivering news because articles on newspapers are appreciably accurate and reliable. Unlike information on the internet, newspapers ' publishers only issue articles that are well-researched by journalists with proof, since incorrect news leads to the loss of subscribers' credit. For example, journalists' names are written with articles, which guarantees who is responsible for the accuracy of articles. Therefore, newspapers can be maintained as one of the most imperative media to provide news. Nevertheless, newspapers are no longer able to be the most important source of news owing to the lack of ability to report immediately. When emergencies or unexpected events occur, newspapers do not supply updated information instantly because publishing newspapers takes time considerably. This is well exemplified by the case of the 2011 earthquake that happened in Japan. Although newspapers were issued urgently to report the number of fatalities and circumstances of affected regions, conditions were changing by minutes, and information did not serve the public. Thus, in terms of gaining up-to-date news, newspapers are not the most essential media. In conclusion, I partially disagree with the statement because, in spite of the quality of articles, newspapers lack the speed of distributing information in urgent conditions.