Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Every day we receive constant announcements from the mainstream media sent by selling companies that try to catch our attention on their products. This essay will argue that customers can easily fall into the trap of the advertisements ' persuasive influence to purchase a particular product and suggest measures to safeguard ourselves from being sold. Advertisements are the most effective way for companies to acquire customers and attract a wide range of clients. Every publicity spot is designed to awaken a specific portion of democracy's interest and push them to purchase a product they did not even plan to buy. For example, behind a ten- second announcement hides a massive amount of work performed by economists, psychologists and marketing experts to make it look more attractive and persuasive. Provided that these people know how to manipulate the mass through mediatic instruments, I believe publicity does influence our choices, both at a conscious and unconscious state, in a highly effective way. On the other side, advertisements can only spread through mainstream communication channels, namely TV, phones, newspapers and billboards. Therefore, one possible method to avoid getting influenced by them is to disconnect from these tools when we feel overwhelmed by the quantity of news and commercials popping out from our mobile: one can avoid temptations by fleeing from them. Another measure that can be taken into account to preserve our willpower when purchasing an item is recognizing that advertisements might not tell the truth. Although they give the illusion of promoting something unique and unreplaceable, their expectations are disappointed when customers receive it at their houses. To conclude, people are constantly bombarded by commercial spots, promoting videos or pictures that strive to convince us we need what their companies sell. In my opinion, ordinary people are definitely influenced by these powerful tools even though they might not recognize them. However, there are some solutions that people can adopt to safeguarding themselves as aware customers, such as fleeing from the mediatic stream of news and commercials and keep their eyes wide open, wary about what advertisements may and may not show.